2012 Tournament

Tournament Recap

Bucaplaa A 57, Chicago Heights 45

Gabriel Garcia and Jeriel Zayas each scored five of their team-high 11 points in the third quarter when the Pumas opened up a close contest en route to a 57-45 title-game victory over Chicago Heights and Bucaplaa’s eighth Small Fry championship in nine years (and ninth title overall).

Edgardo Hernandez added eight points and Carlos Aleman seven for the Pumas, who survived despite shooting just 2-for-8 from the foul line in the second half. Midwest champion Chicago Heights, which jumped to a quick 8-2 lead in the first period, was led by Victor Quinones with 12 points, Tariq Deere with 11 markers and Corey Stalling with 10 points.

The title game score (57-45) was exactly the same as in 2011 when Bucaplaa defeated Robert Taylor for the championship.

Robert Taylor 59, Juncos A 41

Xavier Castaneda paced three Panthers in double figures with 19 points to lead Robert Taylor to third place. Charles Mister added 11 points for the winners and Christian Graham added 10. Juncos, which trailed 17-9 after the opening quarter, was led by Luis Rivera with 13 points and Jeremy Torres with 11 points.

Glenbrook 47, Solo Pirates 36

Glenbrook jumped to an 11-0 lead and never trailed in capturing the consolation championship. Kevin Cunningham paced the Magic with 17 points, while Charlie Nikitas chipped in eight points and Sahil Modi five. The Pirates were topped by Kywaun Sterling with 13 points.

2012 tournament champs, small fry basketball, vertically challenged youth basketball tournaments

2012 Tournament Champions – Bacaplaa A