2009 Tournament

Tournament Recap

Bucaplaa A 42, Chicago Heights 41

After Chicago Heights battled back from a double-digit deficit to take a one-point lead, Bucaplaa’s Steven Gonzalez scored with 11 seconds remaining to give the Pumas their record sixth consecutive International championship with a 42-41 decision.

Gonzalez led Bucaplaa A with 15 points, while Jan C. Garcia added 11 points and Axel Betancourt finished with seven markers.

For Chicago Heights, Tyler Ulis scored 12 of his game-high 17 points in the final quarter to lead a furious comeback. Alonzo Porter and Mark Fulwiley each added five points for the Green Streaks.

Homewood 58, Marquette Best 50

Ki-Jana Crawford poured in a game-high 19 points and Kendall King added a career-high 16 points to propel Homewood (22-5), which jumped ahead 15-0 at the outset- but had to overcome an eight-point deficit in the second half. Christian Searles and Dalen Dotson each added eight points for the Vikings.

Alondre Pickens scored 13 points and James Davison 11 markers to pace the Best, which finished fourth for a second straight year.

Fraigcomar A 39, Highwood Heat 34

Alonso Adorno scored all of his seven points in the final quarter to help Fraigcomar seal the deal. Bruno Reyes topped the winners with 14 points, while Jonathan Mangual added 12.

Highwood was paced by Luke Norcia with 17 points and Jacob Iden with eight.

2009 champs, small fry basketball, kids basketball tournaments

2009 Tournament Champions – Bucaplaa A