2008 Tournament

Tournament Recap

Bucaplaa A 77, Fraigcomar A 62

Rolling up the highest title-game score since 1977, Bucaplaa A became Small Fry’s first five-time consecutive champion, keeping the margin at double digits after a 25-9 second-quarter blitz produced a 17-points halftime lead.

Hector Ostolaza poured in 23 points and Javier Rosario hit four threes to tally 22 points, while Jan Garcia clicked for 10 points and Jose Massa added eight for Bucaplaa, which claimed its sixth crown overall.

Fraigcomar, which has dropped three straight title-game contests, was led by Kevin Maura with 20 points, Brian Gautier with 11 and Jose Perez with nine. The losing total was the fifth highest in history.

Highwood Heat 41, Marquette Best 27

After outscoring the Best, 8-1, in the second quarter, Highwood never trailed in rolling to a third-place victory. Andy Stempel led a balanced effort with nine points and Matt Kovatchis added seven. For the Best, Leivante Adams topped the attack with seven points.

Guaynabo A 42, Chicago Heights 31

Guaynabo used a 10-3 margin in the third quarter to take command and deny Chicago Heights a second straight consolation title. Jorge Rodriguez and Arnel Cabrera each scored 12 points to pace Guaynabo.

Chicago Heights was ignited by D.J. Deere with 11 points and Khaheem Hill with six markers.

small fry basketball, youth basketball tournaments, 2008 champs

2008 Tournament Champions – Bucaplaa A