2007 Tournament

Tournament Recap

Bucaplaa A 45, Fraigcomar A 36

Bucaplaa A used a late third-quarter burst to overcome a onetime 10-point deficit and become the second team in 39 years to win four consecutive championship and its fifth overall title.

Christian Curet poured in a game-high 25 points for Bucaplaa, which overcame a two-point halftime deficit. Norberto Perez added eight points for the winners. Fraigcomar, which also fell to Bucaplaa in the 2006 title contest, got 11 points from Samuel Betancourt and nine from Jason Ortiz.

While tying the record for consecutive titles (Liga Interclub of San Juan 1976-79), Bucaplaa A also tied Liga Interclub for overall titles with six. The five consecutive title-game appearances is also a record.

Ponce Constancia 55, Glenbrook 50

History repeated itself, as Ponce prevailed over Glenbrook as in 2006 behind 21 points from Michael Sanchez (10 in the fourth quarter) and 10 from Anel Ruiz. Glenbrook, which made a charge with 23 fourth-quarter points, was led by Peter Pujals (13 points) and Jordan Perrin (10).

Chicago Heights 47, Bayamon ABB 43

John Rhode scored five of his 10 points in the fourth quarter and Sheldon Jones tallied a team-high 14 points to spark Chicago Heights to its fifth consolation championship game win in six all-time appearances.

Bayamon ABB got 13 points from Wilfredo Rodriguez and 11 points from Bryan Munich.

2007 championship, small fry basketball, youth basketball tournaments

2007 Tournament Championship Game